The Peacock’s Tail Effect

It has taken me some time to work out what I think about this ad. But after three weeks I have now decided.  It is still entertaining and is continually intriguing.

At first I thought, “Are Fallon just trying to put out another ‘crazy’ ad?” (not that I am saying that the Gorilla one was bad because of the craziness). I read this and thought a bit more about it.  But I really think they have cracked it again. It’s good.

The theme tune is not becoming tiresome for me, in fact it helps. There is also something about the girl’s Cadbury-coloured dress which works cleverly and subtley enough not to detract the novelty of  the two kids’ static faces having raving eyebrow attacks.

So I agree with Simon and Simon.

The balloon is great too.

I wasn’t going to blog about it, as it has had a great deal of coverage on everyone else’s blogs.

After seeing it again and again and again I would not mind seeing it another time so that is saying it works compared to most ads. Fallon are doing good things, they are making me ‘feel’ something.

Robin Wight spoke about this on Radio 4 about a month ago when he was discussing the ads Fallon produce. He explained, in an advert such as the Eyebrows or the Gorilla, Fallon does not create the ad to sell the product directly. Instead by having a captivating scene i.e. kids with mad eyebrows dancing in-sync with the music, we intuitively favour the brand. This is because we realise that if such a brand can ‘waste’ their main resource (the actual product of chocolate) and not sell it to straight away, then Cadburys gain a level of respect with the viewer.

I think he called this the ‘Peacock’s tail effect’  – a peacock has a big ‘wasted resource’ of a beautiful tail, the advertiser decided to not use their main resource, in doing so producing some brilliant work of which other agencies should be envious.

5 thoughts on “The Peacock’s Tail Effect

  1. I have been having trouble myself deciding if I am a fan. I have watched it again this morning and I am still not too sure.

    I like the responses that are emerging on youtube though.

  2. I know some of them are brilliant! I was reading on Faris’ blog that the ad has been produced by Fallon in a way which is easy to manipulate and play with online. So they have limited the words and speech so online audiences can then continue to push the ad out in their own ‘remixed’ ways.

  3. Yes – and I see the importance of leaving an idea for people to ‘play’ with. I suppose thats what I like so much about getting the students to respond to artists and other creative practitioners – and why I have so much fun playing and developing ideas with them!

    It is an interesting approach – one that ‘relates’ rather than ‘preaches’ to the consumer?

  4. Yeah allowing people to get involved is probably extremely important now. Fallon is opening up opportunities for online audiences to ‘play’ and share their work with their friends. Their ads are spreading like mad which is why it is working. Spreading by the audience though, not being pushed or forced by the brand in an interruptive manor. People are having fun with it. That is why it is working.

Leave a Reply

