Anish Kapoor

Picture 2

The thing I loved about the Anish Kapoor was that his exhibition at the Royal Academy was fun. By that I mean it was accessible in a way that some art sometimes can’t be to one’s mind instantly. Anish Kapoor’s work is big, daring and all about texture. While I was exploring his work in each room I would become tantalized – I knew I wasn’t allowed to touch his work but his sculptures make you want to prod them and feel them. Being an interactive based exhibition made me feel as if I had a role to play in his work.

The room which impressed me the most was the room filled with mirrors (a range of stainless steel cuboids, ellipsoids and discs) which distorted your image and sense of space in a different way for each one you looked and stepped towards. It is worth going just to feel the slight unease of your image and sense of space being warped completely. Being in this room you couldn’t help but just talk to the stranger next to you, to express how it made you feel. This is probably why I enjoyed wandering around this room the most, for the personal and collective experience.

The power of sculpture certainly prevailed but I wish there had been just a few more rooms to explore….

Picture 1

One thought on “Anish Kapoor

  1. The Unilever Series: Miroslaw Balka at the Tate in the Turbine Hall reminded me of Anish Kapoor’s sculpture only with this one you were really allowed to interact and ‘live’ in it. I wonder if the curators had considered this link between the exhibtions.

Leave a Reply

